# BULGARIA

Polity5 regime codes:

fac	scode	polity	pers	bmon	bday	byear	emon	eday	eyear	exrec	exconst	polcomp
0a	BUL	-4	2	4	29	1879	7	13	1881	1	3	4
0b	BUL	-6	2	7	14	1881	9	30	1883	1	1	4
0c	BUL	-1	3	10	1	1883	9	4	1886	2	3	10
1X	BUL	-5	8	9	5	1886	6	12	1894	3	1	6
10	BUL	-9	19	6	13	1894	6	29	1913	1	1	2
10a	BUL	-66	1	6	30	1913	3	15	1914	-66	-66	-66
10b	BUL	-9	5	3	16	1914	10	4	1918	1	1	2
2X	BUL	2	1	10	5	1918	8	7	1919	8	3	6
2Xa	BUL	-3	15	8	8	1919	5	19	1934	3	3	6
20	BUL	-88	1	5	20	1934	4	18	1935	-88	-88	-88
20a	BUL	-10	8	4	19	1935	8	29	1943	2	1	1
3X	BUL	-77	1	8	30	1943	9	5	1944	-77	-77	-77
30	BUL	-88	2	9	6	1944	9	15	1946	-88	-88	-88
30a	BUL	-6	1	9	16	1946	12	4	1947	3	3	2
3Ob	BUL	-7	42	12	5	1947	11	10	1989	3	3	1
4X	BUL	1	1	11	11	1989	7	31	1990	5	4	6
4Xa	BUL	7	1	8	1	1990	1	18	1992	7	7	7
4Xb	BUL	8	10	1	19	1992	7	23	2001	8	7	7
40	BUL	9	17	7	24	2001	99	99	9999	8	7	9

PITF Problem Events: none

**4X) Date of Change to Factional-Autocratic:** November 11, 1989 (new government)

## **Brief Explanation of Change To:**

On November 10, 1989, in response to increasing pressure for reform, externally, internally, and within the Bulgarian Communist Party (BCP), Todor Zhivkov, Eastern Europe's longest serving leader, was ousted from his position as BCP General Secretary and replaced by Petur Mladenov. Zhivkov had caused a mass exodus of ethnic-Turks in June 1989 in a crackdown on protests by the minority group. Mladenov was confirmed president on April 3, 1990, in an agreement between the BCP and the opposition, until new elections could be held. June 1990 multiparty elections returned the BCP (now named the Bulgarian Socialist Party, BSP) to power; however, President Mladenov resigned under pressure on July 6, 1990.

## **Identify Main Factions:**

- Bulgarian Socialist Party (BSP) On April 3, 1990, the long-dominant Bulgarian Communist Party (BCP) changed its name to the BSP and won a majority of seats in the first multiparty legislative elections in June 1990. It was aligned with the Confederation of Independent Trade Unions in Bulgaria (CITUB).
- Opposition to the BCP/BSP The main opposition party was the Union of Democratic Forces (UDF) which was formed on December 7, 1989, by dissident groups and Podkrepa, an independent trade union. The UDF formed a government in November 1991 but that ruling coalition collapsed in October 1992; the UDF remained in opposition until May 1997, when it won a majority in parliament and formed its second government. The UDF fractured in 2001 following its crushing defeat in June 2001 elections by the newly formed, nationalist National Movement Simeon II (NDSV) amid disagreement over whether to associate and how to respond to the new party.

## **Changes within Factional Period:**

**4Xa)** August 1, 1990 (presidential election) – On July 6, 1990, President Petur Mladenov resigned after three months in office. The BSP-controlled parliament convened on July 10 to accept the resignation and begin the process of electing his replacement. BSP candidates failed to clinch the necessary majority in the first five rounds of voting. The opposition UDF candidate Peter Dertliev, also failed to win the required 2/3 majority; Dertliev withdrew in favor of compromise candidate Zhelyu Zhelev, also of the UDF. Zhelev won 284 of 389 votes cast on August 1, 1990, clinching election to office. This marked the first transfer of executive power by election and signaled a dramatic reduction of executive power as executive and legislative branches were now controlled by competing parties.

**4Xb)** January 19, 1992 (presidential election) – On January 12 and 19, 1992, Bulgaria held its first direct, competitive multi-party elections for president. None of the three candidates won a simple majority of the vote in the first round. President Zhelyu Zhelev (UDF) won 53% of the vote in the second-round runoff against the BSP-supported candidate Velko Valkanov on January 19

**40) Date of Change from Factional-Democratic:** July 24, 2001 (new government)

# **Brief Explanation of Change From:**

The former King Simeon II returned to Bulgaria on April 4, 2001, to lead a political movement, the National Movement Simeon II (NDSV), to break the factional deadlock that had gripped Bulgarian politics since 1989. The NDSV, which was formed on April 6, won 120 of 240 seats in June 17 elections to the National Assembly. Failing to reach agreement with its "natural partner" (UDF), the NDSV signed a coalition agreement with the Turkish Movement for Rights and Freedoms (DPS; 21 seats) on July 19. NDSV leader, Simeon Saxecoburggotski, was approved for the post of Prime Minister on July 24, 2001. The new government included two members of the BSP, without a formal coalition agreement.