# **BURKINA FASO**

Polity5 regime codes:

I shije Isginie sawa.												
fac	scode	polity	pers	bmon	bday	byear	emon	eday	eyear	exrec	exconst	polcomp
0a	BFO	-7	5	8	5	1960	1	3	1966	3	3	1
0b	BFO	-7	4	1	4	1966	11	15	1969	4	1	1
0c	BFO	-6	0	11	16	1969	6	13	1970	4	1	2
0d	BFO	-4	8	6	14	1970	11	27	1977	5	2	3
0e	BFO	-88	0	11	28	1977	5	29	1978	-88	-88	-88
1X	BFO	4	3	5	30	1978	11	26	1980	7	5	6
10	BFO	-7	10	11	27	1980	6	2	1991	4	1	1
10a	BFO	-5	6	6	3	1991	5	6	1998	5	2	2
10b	BFO	-4	1	5	7	1998	10	15	2000	5	2	3
10c	BFO	-3	1	10	16	2000	9	18	2001	5	3	3
10d	BFO	0	16	9	19	2001	12	28	2015	5	3	8
10e	BFO	6	3	12	29	2015	99	99	9999	7	6	8

PITF Problem Events:

1) 11/80-11/80 (ARC 11/80-11/80)

- **0a)** August 5, 1960 (independence) Upper Volta became a self-governing republic in 1958 under the administration of the *Union Democratique Voltaique* (UDV), which designated its leader Maurice Yameogo as president. President Yameogo declared the country's independence from France on August 5, 1960. All political parties other than the UDV were banned.
- **0b)** January 4, 1966 (military coup) A general strike and demonstrations staged by the urban trade unions triggered a military takeover on January 3, 1966, under the leadership of Lt. Col. Sangoule Lamizana.
- **0c)** November 16, 1969 (lifting of ban on political parties) The ban on political activity was lifted in November 1969.
- **0d)** June 14, 1970 (new constitution) A new constitution was adopted on June 14, 1970, that provided for a civilian administration and an elected assembly that would operate under the authority of Lamizana and the military. In January 1974, the government was paralyzed by a confrontation between the prime minister and the legislature and, on February 8, Lamizana again stepped in dissolved the government.
- **0e)** November 27, 1977 (new constitution) Another constitution was drafted and approved by referendum on November 27, 1977, that legalized all parties in the run up to legislative elections on April 30, 1978, after which only the top three parties would be allowed to remain. Multi-party presidential elections were scheduled for May 1978.
- **1X) Date of Change to Factional-Democratic:** May 30, 1978 (presidential elections)

### **Brief Explanation of Change To:**

Having originally declared that he would not stand as a candidate, Lamizana reversed himself and entered the presidential election held in May 1978. He won the runoff election held on May 29 and was elected president. The new government was quickly beset by popular unrest, labor strikes, and demonstrations; these continued through 1979 and 1980.

## **Identify Main Factions:**

- *Union Democratique Voltaique* (UDV) Factionalism is largely split along ethnic/regional and rural/urban divisions. The politically dominant Mossi ethnic group comprises about half the population. In trying to unify political interests within a single party, the *Union Democratique Voltaique* itself was beset by internal divisions.
- Urban Trade Unions mobilized dissent due to the general ban on opposition parties.
- Military

**10) Date of Change from Factional-Democratic:** November 26, 1980 (adverse regime change)

## **Brief Explanation of Change From:**

**Adverse Regime Change: November 1980** 

In the face of widespread and protracted civil unrest, the elected government of President Lamizana was ousted by the military under the leadership of Col. Saye Zerbo on November 25, 1980. The constitution was suspended, and all political activity was banned. Zerbo lost favor with the unions when he prioritized rural development. The right to strike was revoked in November 1981 (reinstated in February 1982). The Zerbo coup ushered in a series of military coups. On November 7, 1982, Zerbo was ousted by a group of NCOs and junior officers led by Surgeon Maj. Jean-Baptiste Ouedraogo. On August 4, 1983, Capt. Thomas Sankara ousted Ouedraogo (on August 3, 1984, Sankara changed the country's name to Burkina Faso). The series of coups ended with Sankara's death in a coup led by Capt. Blaise Compaoré on October 15, 1987.

#### **Changes within Autocratic Reform Period:**

**10a)** June 3, 1991 (new constitution) – A new constitution that called for a multi-party system with an elected president and legislature was adopted by referendum on June 2, 1991. While opposition groups were allowed to organize, they were not allowed to challenge the Compaoré regime. Most opposition groups maintained a general boycott of elections through the 1990s.

**10b**) May 7, 1998 (election commission created) – On February 21, 1998, opposition parties organized a coalition to demand the creation of an independent electoral commission to oversee the presidential election scheduled to be held later that year. On May 7, 1998, a law was promulgated that created an independent national electoral commission. Presidential elections were held on November 15, 1998, despite a boycott staged by the opposition coalition, the so-called 14<sup>th</sup> of February Group, and Compaoré was re-elected with 87.5% of the vote. Outside election observers declared the election to have been generally free and fair.

**10c)** October 16, 2000 (constitutional amendment) – A constitutional amendment reducing presidential terms in office from 7 to 5 years and limiting number of terms to two was passed. (In October 2005, the constitutional council ruled that the term limit could not be applied to the sitting president, thus, allowing Compaoré to run, and win, the November 2005 election.)

**10d)** September 19, 2001 (end election boycott) – On September 18, 2001, a representative of civil society was appointed president of Burkina Faso's independent National Electoral Commission (a 15-member body evenly divided between Compaoré supporters, opposition parties and members of civil society). Most opposition groups decided to take part in the May 2002 legislative elections following the implementation of new electoral reforms by the National Electoral Commission. In these elections, the ruling Congress for Democracy and Progress party saw its share of seats (57) in the 111-member parliament shrink to a narrow majority (however, the opposition remains fragmented with 13 parties gaining seats; the second largest party had 17 seats). International observers described these elections as fair despite the occurrence of minor irregularities.

**10e)** December 29, 2015 (new government) – General elections were held on November 29, 2015, to replace the caretaker government put in place following President Blaise Compaoré's forced resignation on October 31, 2014, in response to a popular uprising. Roch Marc Christian Kaboré was declared the winner of the presidential election and his Movement of People for Progress was voted the largest party in legislative elections, although short of a majority. The new government took office on December 29, 2015, marking the country's first peaceful and elected transfer of governing authority.