CAPE VERDE

Polity5 regime codes:

fac	scode	polity	pers	bmon	bday	byear	emon	eday	eyear	exrec	exconst	polcomp
0a	CAP	-4	10	7	5	1975	12	6	1985	3	5	1
0b	CAP	-3	4	12	7	1985	2	17	1990	3	5	2
0c	CAP	-2	1	2	18	1990	3	21	1991	3	5	3
0d	CAP	8	10	3	22	1991	3	21	2001	8	6	9
0e	CAP	10	18	3	22	2001	99	99	9999	8	7	10

PITF Problem Events: none

- **0a)** July 5, 1975 (independence) Cape Verde gained independence from Portugal on July 5, 1975. The island state had been part of Portuguese Guinea along with the mainland territory that has come to be known as Guinea-Bissau. Both territories came to be dominated by the indigenous African Party for the Independence of Guinea and Cape Verde (PAIGC) led by Amilcar Cabral. PAIGC militants engaged in armed rebellion in order to pressure Portugal to grant independence to the territories; fighting was concentrated on the mainland. Cabral was assassinated in on January 20, 1973. The stated aim of the PAIGC was to unify the Cape Verde islands and the mainland but this plan never materialized. Cape Verde began as a hegemonic one-party state and on July 8, 1975, Aristides Maria Pereira was designated president.
- **0b)** December 7, 1985 (legislative elections; independent candidates) Following the military coup that ousted President Luis Cabral in Guinea-Bissau on November 14, 1980, the ruling party in Cape Verde broke relations with the mainland party and changed its name to the African Party for the Independence of Cape Verde (PAICV). In legislative elections held on December 7, 1985, the PAICV allowed independent candidates to run for office on the party list, although opposition parties remained banned.
- **0c)** February 18, 1990 (lifting ban on parties) The ruling PAICV lifted the ban on opposition parties during its party congress held February 14-17, 1990; opposition leaders formed the Movement for Democracy (MPD) in March 1990. The one-party state was abolished on 28 September 1990.
- **0d)** March 22, 1991 (peaceful transfer of authority) As a result of the country's first multi-party legislative elections held January 13, 1991, the opposition MPD won 56 of the 79 seats in the legislature. The PAICV government was maintained in a caretaker role until presidential elections were held on February 17, 1991. MPD-candidate Antonio Mascarenhas Monteiro won the election and was inaugurated on 22 March 1991.
- **0e)** March 22, 2001 (peaceful transfer of authority) In February 2001 elections, PAICV-candidate Pedro Pires won by the slimmest of margins (12 votes); the PAICV also won a plurality in legislative elections. The new government was sworn in on 22 March 2001.