DOMINICAN REPUBLIC

Polity5 regime codes:

fac	scode	polity	pers	bmon	bday	byear	emon	eday	eyear	exrec	exconst	polcomp
1X	DOM	-3	17	2	27	1844	3	18	1861	3	3	6
1Xa	DOM	-77	4	3	19	1861	5	1	1865	-77	-77	-77
1Xb	DOM	-3	49	5	2	1865	6	26	1914	3	3	6
1Xc	DOM	-66	10	6	27	1914	12	31	1924	-66	-66	-66
1Xd	DOM	-3	5	1	1	1925	2	23	1930	3	3	6
10	DOM	-88	3	2	24	1930	12	2	1932	-88	-88	-88
10a	DOM	-9	28	12	3	1932	5	30	1961	3	1	1
2X	DOM	-88	2	5	31	1961	2	26	1963	-88	-88	-88
2Xa	DOM	8	1	2	27	1963	9	25	1963	8	7	7
2Xb	DOM	-77	3	9	26	1963	6	1	1966	-77	-77	-77
2Xc	DOM	-3	12	6	2	1966	8	15	1978	3	3	6
2Xd	DOM	5	18	8	16	1978	8	15	1996	7	5	7
20	DOM	8	20	8	16	1996	5	14	2016	8	6	9
20a	DOM	7	3	5	15	2016	99	99	9999	8	6	8

PITF Problem Events:

1) 09/63-07/66 (ARC 09/63-07/66; REV 04/65-05/65)

Following the overthrow of President Horacio Vazquez in 1930, Generalissimo Rafael Leonidas Trujillo Molina established a personal dictatorship. The country remained under dictatorial rule for thirty years until the assassination of Trujillo on May 30, 1961.

2X) Date of Change to Factional-Democratic: June 1, 1961 (transitional government)

Brief Explanation of Change To:

Major-General Rafael Trujillo Jr., the eldest son of the late Generalissimo, assumed nominal control of the Dominican Republic on June 2, 1961, when a decree was signed creating for him the new post of Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff. The new leader stated publicly that he did not wish to continue military rule and gave a pledge to hold free elections in 1962; he also confirmed an amnesty for all Dominican citizens abroad who had political charges against them. Growing popular opposition to the Trujillos' rule led to demonstrations, strikes, and disorders during July, August, and September 1961. After several days of serious rioting, President Balaguer announced on October 23, 1961, that General Hector Trujillo and General José Trujillo–brothers of the late dictator–would leave the country and, subsequently, Maj-Gen. Rafael Trujillo resigned and left the country on November 19, 1961. A Council of State was established by the ruling elites on January 1, 1962, to direct the transition to an elected administration. Oppositional political parties began operating openly almost immediately following Trujillo's assassination.

Identify Main Factions:

- *The Dominican Party* previously the sole political organization permitted under the dictatorship.
- *Dominican Revolutionary Party* led by Juan Bosch. PRD was originally founded in 1939 by Dominican exiles in Havana, Cuba. It remains a moderate left-wing, social democratic party.

- *National Civic Union* the UCN was the largest and most influential party; it was led by Dr. Viriato Alberto Fiallo. Dr. Fiallo had remained in the Dominican Republic throughout the Trujillo dictatorship and had been imprisoned three times. The party stood for the return of democratic liberties and opposed the Trujillo's family holding office.
- *Military* Following the assassination of Gen. Trujillo and the exile of the Trujillo family, the military remained politically activist, although its direct involvement was neutralized due to disagreements among its leadership.

Changes within Factional Period:

2Xa) February 27, 1963 (presidential inauguration) – The country's first free elections in 38 years were held on December 20, 1962. Juan Bosch, the leader of the Dominican Revolutionary Party (PRD), was elected to the Presidency with 628,495 votes against 316,877 for his nearest opponent, Dr. Viriato Fiallo, leader of the National Civic Union (UCN). President Bosch was inaugurated on February 27, 1963.

2Xa) September 25, 1963 (military coup)

Adverse Regime Change: September 1963 – July 1966

On September 25, 1963, military leaders overthrew the government of President Juan Bosch, citing communist sympathies and overly leftist policies in the newly inaugurated administration. The coup was also doubtlessly fueled by Bosch's attempts to assert civilian control over the military. The military revoked the Constitution and established a provisional civilian government that swiftly turned into a dictatorship.

Revolutionary War: April 1965 – May 1965

Conflict between pro-Bosch "constitutionalists" and pro-military "loyalists" swiftly escalated into civil war, which ultimately resulted in occupation by the U.S. military in "Operation Power Pack" in April 1965.

2Xb) July 1, 1966 (presidential election) – The first presidential elections under the provisional government were held on June 1, 1966. Joachin Belaguer (*Reformist Party*), who had served under Trujillo, won the election with 754,409 votes, against 517,784 for former-President Bosch and 45,073 for Rafael Bonelly (*Movement of National Integration*). Despite allegations of widespread fraud by Belaguer and his supporters, Bosch and Bonelly accepted the results. Balaguer was installed as president on July 1, 1966. Although Belaguer was able to end the civil war, his rule as president, known as "the twelve years," was marked by unfair elections, opposition boycotts, and restricted political competition.

2Xc) August 16, 1978 (presidential election) – President Joachin Belaguer was defeated in his campaign for a fourth term in the presidential election of May 16, 1978. Despite significant irregularities, including military occupation of the Central Electoral Board and an alleged coup plot by Belaguer supporters, Silvestre Antonio Guzman emerged as the victor with 856,054 votes out of about 1,700,000 votes cast. Sr. Guzman was inaugurated on August 16, 1978. This election was in stark contrast to the previous elections under Belaguer's rules, which were marred by fraud, manipulation and opposition boycotts. Belaguer was then returned to power in elections in 1986 and 1990, and, approaching ninety years old, won elections in May 1994 that

Dominican Republic -2-

were marred by widespread fraud, voter disenfranchisement, and voting irregularities. Despite an agreement with opposition leaders and OAS officials to hold new elections in November 1995, the legislature voted to give Belaguer a 2-year term, thus postponing the elections an additional six months. Belaguer was inaugurated for his seventh, limited, term on August 16, 1994.

20) Date of Change from Factional-Democratic: August 16, 1996 (new government – democratic consolidation)

Brief Explanation of Change From: Leonel Fernández, of the centrist Dominican Liberation Party (PLD), was sworn in as President on August 16, 1996. The new Cabinet was sworn in on the same day. After coming in third in the first round of elections on May 16, Fernandez, favored candidate of former-President Belaguer, won a highly contested run-off election on June 30 with 51.25% of the vote.

Changes within Democratic Period:

2Oa) Legislative terms that were scheduled to end in 2014 were extended to 2016 so that presidential and legislative elections would be held concurrently. The ruling Dominican Liberation Party manipulated the electoral procedure to its own advantage to amend the constitution to allow for the re-election of President Danilo Medina. The elections that took place on May 15, 2016, were marred by serious irregularities and led to protests and riots.