## **MONTENEGRO**

Polity5 regime codes:

fac	scode	polity	pers	bmon	bday	byear	emon	eday	eyear	exrec	exconst	polcomp
0a	MNT	9	13	6	3	2006	99	99	9999	8	7	9

PITF Problem Events: none

**0a)** March 17, 2006 (independence) – On June 3, 2006, following a national referendum, Montenegro declared its independence from Serbia and Montenegro (formerly the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia). The referendum passed by a slim margin: 55.5% in favor (55% is the standard for validation under EU rules), and was not contested by Serbia, which passed its own independence referendum. The independence vote in Montenegro was split largely along ethnic lines; the country is comprised of about 43% Montenegrins, 33% Serbs, and 18% Muslims. Political parties are also based mainly on ethnic identification. On September 10, 2006, the country held its first parliamentary elections, which were generally regarded as free and fair by EU observers. The center-left, pro-EU Coalition for a European Montenegro, led by the Democratic Socialist Party (DPS) of Prime Minister Milo Djukanovic, emerged as the largest bloc with thirty-nine of eighty-one seats in the Assembly. When Djukanovic refused reappointment, Zeljko Sturanovic was appointed prime minister on November 10, 2006. As a condition for ascension to the EU, Montenegro promulgated a new constitution on October 17, 2007, with pro-Serb parties voting against ratification. Sturanovic later resigned due to ill health and was replaced by Djukanovic on February 29, 2008.